So Many Reasons to Write

I was asked why I wanted to write:
Because I want to be me.
That’s who I am.
It’s what I do.
I write.

But why?
Why sit down and write today?
To share a thought
An inspiration
To hone my craft
To earn my daily bread.

Write for the heart
And not for money
So many would advise
And others say the opposite

Me, I say write from the heart
Regardless of the motive

For those of you who do need your writing to earn you some money and haven’t already found this site, give it try: http://womagwriter.blogspot.co.uk

How focused are you?
When you sit down and write, what is that particular piece of writing for?
Do you always write from the heart, regardless of what you’re writing for?

About Rosalie Squires

'Who am I?' is a question whose answer keeps evolving, that can be answered in many, many ways; that has no known answer at all. But there are some clues to be found: stocksharpsquires.wordpress.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to So Many Reasons to Write

  1. Novel Girl says:

    My writing is fiction. I’m writing a psychological thriller, but this would go for any genre: you need to write as if you were directing a movie; as if the protagonist were your brother, friend, enemy; as if this were real and you’re only putting the story into a novel format. Otherwise, who’ll believe in your story if it’s not close to your heart?

    Thanks for your insightful question. Out of curiosity, why do you write?

  2. Hi Rebecca, I’ve pondered over your question several times wondering what I can add to my original post but I think a friend may have given me the answer – see today’s post, Living the Story.

Leave a Reply

