Where was me?

I quite frequently refer to, ‘I, myself and me’ without any scientific or analytic idea as to what exact part of me I intend each term to refer to; just some vague notion that psychologists probably mean the ego by ‘I’. I tend to think of the rational side; the part that reasons things out, applies willpower, recognises decisions. As to how things that might be referred to as the heart, soul, inner me etc divide up between ‘me’ and ‘myself”, I have no idea and I’m sure that it really matters.
The point is that humans are complex creatures; more than organic, animated computer/brains. Our actions are governed by more than what we consciously decide to do.
We often talk of things like, ‘losing our head’ or, ‘leaving our head behind’ when we mean that emotional pulls or preoccupations of some kind are dominating rational thought more than usual.
I’m currently struggling to come to terms with a strange-feeling experience. I’ve had a lovely time lying on the beach, playing in the sea, going for walks, enjoying beautiful gardens etc etc yet I have this feeling that some part of me wasn’t really there. I was disconnected from myself. For that time I was a different person than I usually am. I seemed to have lost touch with the inner me.
I tried to explain this to someone who quoted something about holidays being a time for one’s spirit to catch up with oneself. But this was more like the opposite.

How well do you know yourself?
If you are ‘in two minds’ over something, can you identify the two conflicting influences?

About Rosalie Squires

'Who am I?' is a question whose answer keeps evolving, that can be answered in many, many ways; that has no known answer at all. But there are some clues to be found: stocksharpsquires.wordpress.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

