Time and Regret

This is the beginning of a new day. God has given me this day to use as I will. I can waste it or use it for good. What I do today is important because I’m exchanging a day of my life for it. When tomorrow comes, this day will be gone forever, leaving in its place something I have traded for it. I want it to be gain, not loss; good, not evil; success, not failure; in order that I shall not regret the price I paid for it.

From: The Monks of the Abbey of the Genesee., Piffard, NY, 2012

This was brought to my notice by Agatha Nolan. I hate any kind of waste and I particularly hate regrets so it really caught my attention.

 

What do you consider good value for the time it cost you?

About Rosalie Squires

'Who am I?' is a question whose answer keeps evolving, that can be answered in many, many ways; that has no known answer at all. But there are some clues to be found: stocksharpsquires.wordpress.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Time and Regret

  1. Agatha Nolen says:

    Thanks Rosalie for copying the prayer from the Abbey. My time there last week was special and rejuvenating and the prayer hit home. We do have choices on how we spend our time. We can waste it on trivialities or we can get closer to God by studying his Word and doing what He asks of us. Each day is another 24 hours to live a great life with God in it!
    Agatha Nolen
    http://www.agathanolen.com

  2. Agatha Nolen says:

    Thanks for posting the prayer from the Abbey. My time there two weeks ago was relaxing and inspiring! It allowed me to slow down long enough to understand the prayer. I can be busy for 24 hours and not really do anything meaningful and then the day is wasted. A well-spent day for me is listening for God’s word and as a humble servant, trying to do what He has asked.
    Thanks again,
    Agatha

  3. You’re welcome, Agatha. And yes, there’s more to a good day than how many items get ticked off the TODO list.

Leave a Reply

