Ribbons for Rosalie

I’m not used to writing my name and it referring to someone else, not me. But the Rosalie of this post is a little girl in Oklahoma; you can read about her here. The people of her community are tying pink ribbons to their mailboxes for her. And posting photos of them. My ribbon for Rosalie is lilac, not pink and tied to the prayer tree in our churchyard – we don’t have American style mailboxes in my part of the world – but here are the photos:

Here is the prayer ribbon I tied for Rosalie – it’s the one on the extreme right of the picture of the tree.

I’ve only ever met two other people called Rosalie and not known either of them well and the story of how I came to know about this Rosalie is so amazing – it’s really set me thinking…

Do you have any feeling of affinity or kinship with, maybe even responsibility for, people who share your name?

About Rosalie Squires

'Who am I?' is a question whose answer keeps evolving, that can be answered in many, many ways; that has no known answer at all. But there are some clues to be found: stocksharpsquires.wordpress.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ribbons for Rosalie

  1. I think that little Rosalie would be giggly about seeing your ribbon for her….and I know her parents and friends (myself included!) appreciate your thoughts and prayers ♥ paula

  2. snowbirdpress says:

    I have a boy’s first name… it was my Greatgrandmother’s last name. There are many Merrill’s in the world and my thought is of Robert Merrill the Opera singer… Women spell my name differently – Meryl. And so it is unusual for me to find another woman with my first name, spelled the way I do… It can sometimes give me a lot of trouble, but it can also be fun to be one of a kind. Watch, now that I’ve posted this I’ll have word from dozens of Merrill’s from all over the world… We’ll see. 🙂

Leave a Reply

