Letting go

I
am no longer
jealous
because
I
no longer need
what she stole

Can we still claim to have forgiven when it is passage of time rather than an act of will that dissolves our hurt and resentment?

About Rosalie Squires

'Who am I?' is a question whose answer keeps evolving, that can be answered in many, many ways; that has no known answer at all. But there are some clues to be found: stocksharpsquires.wordpress.
This entry was posted in Poems, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Letting go

  1. Agatha Nolen says:

    A beautiful poem, and so true. It is only when we “covet” that we become green with envy. If I “want” more riches, I only need remind myself of the riches that God has bestowed upon me. If I am jealous of those who are married when I am divorced, I need remind myself that God has asked me to be where I am today and to find joy right here and now. When I long to be loved, I only need remember that God’s love for me can be surpassed by no one.
    How simple a poem, yet so profound a thought.
    Thanks, Rosalie.
    Agatha
    http://www.agathanolen.com

  2. P. C. Zick says:

    Forgiveness is a change in perception/perspective. So yes, it all counts.

  3. This is beautiful. Absolution is one of my lifelong battles; I’m always learning, then forgiving. It takes time, in that following Christ’s example, for me, has been a long, unwinding process. I just realized it a little more, sitting with my youngest early this morning while she wasn’t well. Lessons abound, and at least now I’m old enough to gladly grasp whatever floats in my midst.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! God’s great blessings be with you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

