Jumbled threads

This picture of the contents of my (little used) sewing box reminds me of the much larger, but otherwise rather similar, mess that would be left towards the end of the task when Mum

insisted that my sister and I tidy our bedroom and turn out the drawers. There always seemed to be several balls of wool and reels of cotton that had come unwound and tangled round ‘useful’ pieces of string, ribbon etc.

Recently I’ve become aware that thoughts in my mind have begun to take on an alarmingly similar characteristic.

It started off by thinking that instead of worrying over various problems in real life, I could deal with potentially negative or damaging thoughts by turning them into plots for stories. It seemed like a win win situation.

But then things seemed to get somewhat out of hand.

Are jumbled messes potentially creative? Or just plain inefficient?

About Rosalie Squires

'Who am I?' is a question whose answer keeps evolving, that can be answered in many, many ways; that has no known answer at all. But there are some clues to be found: stocksharpsquires.wordpress.
This entry was posted in Life, Uncategorized, Writing &Blogging and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Jumbled threads

  1. RoSy says:

    The less jumbled messes – the more clear my mind is. I think it’s all in my head 😉

  2. Good point – come to think of it, when I worked in an office I always made a point of leaving my desk clear(apart from an array of pot plants) every evening. And I can’t bear cluttered sides in a kitchen. Hmm…have to think about this some more.

  3. Cara Olsen says:

    A perfect illustration, Rosalie.

    I think it much depends on that day — and my mood. There are mornings I wake, and I know before I have opened an eye, put on foot on the ground, that today isn’t going to be a “flow” sort of day. The words will come like water droplets through a crack. Then there are days, usually very unexpected, when my mind seems to align with my fingers and there is no stopping or measuring what they might do. I suppose I have two drawers. 😉

    Blessings,
    ~ Cara

  4. A jumbled mess doesn’t work creatively for me. I need a somewhat quieter mind for creativity. I need some silence to hear the whisper of the muses.
    But I like your question and why not? Why wouldn’t a mess cause creativity? Too much organisation, too much control can kill creativity.
    Nice question! I will keep it echoing in my mind.
    Have a lovely workweek.
    Cheers, Paula

    • Yes, there is the idea of something being more than the sum its parts; that by having two normally unconnected things brought together in a strange or ‘messy’ way something new and creative will emerge. But it will still take determined organisation and hard work to bring that idea to fruition.

  5. I am the current European, World and Olympic champion when it comes to being in a mess. (Though doubtless there are others prepared to challenge my claim.) Most people I know who dabble at art, writing and anything else creative live in what look like crime scenes from ‘Burglars Who Leave Your House Untidy’ (Sky Sports, Mondays at 7pm; and repeated on an hourly basis for the rest of the year).

    I think being untidy often goes with being ‘creative’. Perhaps it’s a reflection of all those ideas whizzing around ‘upstairs’ that can’t, at first, be tamed.

    That said, there always comes a point when I can’t stand it any more. On goes some loud, jolly music or a tape of ‘Hancock’s half Hour’ and I nip all over the shop like a robin on speed. By the time I’ve finished, I could show the Queen round my room and not feel embarrassed.

    Of course, were she to call a week later, it’s not necessarily the same story.

    Or perhaps it is!

    Nice photo, by the way. Mrs C has a similar box, and much used whether I like it or not. 🙂

  6. The thing is, the box is little used precisely because it is in such a mess. The bits and pieces in use for my current sewing project are more or less (well, more of the less than the more, actually) set out neatly (?) on the seat of a typist’s chair.

Leave a Reply

