In retrospect

There’s a section
On the library shelf
I call the weird and wonderful
And there I’d like to see a book
Of Wisdom by
Myself.

It took some years, but I wrote the book. I thought it would change the world.

It didn’t.

Then I thought it was one of those little things; inconsequential. So what was the point? Why all the time, trouble and expense for something in which I’d lost confidence and no-one else knew existed?

That’s been the question at the back of my mind for months; the one I don’t want to face or admit is there.

I was walking along the road this morning thinking about that pesky mosquito again and the point of the book suddenly fell into place. It might not have changed anyone else’s life, but it certainly changed mine; it changed me. I am a different person for having written it. It gave me a focus to get through a traumatic time and made me clarify my thinking on several points.

Someone once told me that you can’t see the reason for the path you tread until you look back in retrospect. Once again, I’ve discovered they were right. The really ironic point is that I wrote a lot on that subject in the book!

Have you had any new insights on life lately?
Perhaps there’s a penny just waiting to drop if you give it a little nudge?

About Rosalie Squires

'Who am I?' is a question whose answer keeps evolving, that can be answered in many, many ways; that has no known answer at all. But there are some clues to be found: stocksharpsquires.wordpress.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to In retrospect

  1. Agatha Nolen says:

    Rosalie,
    thought-provoking observation of yourself! My book too is changing me…I’m much more observant of the world around me, wanting to make sense of it so that I can share.
    But as for new insights—NEVER try to make God tell you what is on his mind! Give Him free rein in your life and it will be more beautiful than you could have ever imagined!
    thanks!
    Agatha

  2. RoSy says:

    Having a blog & reading what others share has opened my eyes, heart & soul to more than ever before.

  3. P. C. Zick says:

    You certainly have made me think about a lot of things. I’ve been coming to the conclusion that it is me that must believe in my writing. Once that happens, I can temper the praise with the other. Neither mean as much as what I derive from my work. If I touch someone else through laughter or tears, it’s even better. I’m the mosquito in the room of my own design.

  4. Your comment has given me a whole lot more thinking to do. For a start, if we pose ourselves the question.’ Do I believe in my own writing?’ what are we actually asking? How many different questions are included in that? Are we talking about ability to write readable prose? Whether we truly believe what we are saying? Whether we think there is a commercial value to what we write?
    As for actually being the mosquito we re in the room with…

Leave a Reply

