Flash fiction – Crimson

Crimson

I opened the wardrobe. And there was the dress. Crimson and floaty. The dress of my dreams. If I wore it, could I become the girl in the picture?
Fingers fumbled with fasteners made stiff with disuse. My heart beat loudly. Breathing threatened to disintegrate ancient stitches. I looked in the mirror, longing to meet the higher reality; yearning for my true, lost, self.
So near, yet so far. Teasing hint of reflection increased my desire.
I spied the shoe and, rummaging, found the other. They fit like Cinderella’s slipper.
Forsaking the now redundant mirror, I ascended the invisible staircase.

Thanks to Paula for bringing this to my attention.


Are you living your dreams?
What does it take for you to become your true self?

About Rosalie Squires

'Who am I?' is a question whose answer keeps evolving, that can be answered in many, many ways; that has no known answer at all. But there are some clues to be found: stocksharpsquires.wordpress.
This entry was posted in Stories, Uncategorized, Writing &Blogging and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Flash fiction – Crimson

  1. Pingback: Flash Fiction Challenge | 10 Options, 100 Words, Limitless Possibilities | Josh Mosey | Writer

Leave a Reply

