Anniversary

I took it from the study shelf
Where I’d placed it just a year ago.
Still new
Still shiny
And unopened.

My Chipped Conker.

I stood and held it in my hand
Recalled last year’s excitement
The glossy cover
With my name.
And its hidden flaw.

Yes, a year ago today I opened a package and held in my hand the very first copy of my book. It was wonderful. Fleetingly, I thought my dreams had come true.
But dreams are easily shattered and all too soon someone pointed out a repeated word in the very first paragraph. Someone else referred to various typos. I didn’t have the heart to check them out.
My wonderful shiny conker was flawed.
I hid it away, not knowing what to do. Knowing that one day I would have to face up to it; not having the courage. Today, a year from it first arriving, I’ve started reading my own book.

 

About Rosalie Squires

'Who am I?' is a question whose answer keeps evolving, that can be answered in many, many ways; that has no known answer at all. But there are some clues to be found: stocksharpsquires.wordpress.
This entry was posted in Life, Writing &Blogging and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Anniversary

  1. julielees says:

    I can empathise entirely being an obsessive re-writer yet still finding areas that I could have tackled better. You’re only consolation is that you are not alone.

  2. Thank you. That actually is a big consolation – I didn’t have the online friends then that I do now.

  3. hugmamma says:

    Facing flaws is never easy. Especially when they’re out there, and you’re unable to click “delete.” It might help you to think that you’re published. So many, like me, would like to write a book but haven’t yet done so. Pat yourself on the back. You’ve done good.

    Hope my words help…even a little. Hugs… 🙂

Leave a Reply

