Prayers for Mary

It’s not my tradition, but thousands of people worldwide down the ages pray to Mary or ask her to pray for them.
I am starting to put together some ideas for an Advent themed meditation and was thinking about how Mary felt a few weeks into her nine month wait after the exhilaration of the angel’s visit had worn off and the physical reality of pregnancy started to kick in.
The verse from Isaiah 43 came to mind:
“Do not be afraid, for I have ransomed you. I have called you by name; you are mine.”
I find myself wanting to pray that these words come to her mind and are a comfort to her. People ask so much of her; can’t we offer something for a change?
The concept raises all sorts of issues about time and eternity. People whose thinking is firmly rooted in earthbound chronological time will say it is impossible for now to influence the past and part of me agrees; the same part that says that parallel lines never meet. But parallel lines never meet on a flat plane which is the context in which Euclid was thinking. They do meet on a curved surface; lines of longitude meet at the poles.
A lot of what is or isn’t possible depends on the context. If you believe, as I do, that earth is but a raindrop in the sea of heaven, then time is but a raindrop in the sea of eternity. And what is impossible within our context of time can perfectly well be possible elsewhere in eternity.

I’m not in the habit of prying to Mary but I think I might pray for her. How about you?

About Rosalie Squires

'Who am I?' is a question whose answer keeps evolving, that can be answered in many, many ways; that has no known answer at all. But there are some clues to be found: stocksharpsquires.wordpress.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Prayers for Mary

  1. paulaacton says:

    As a pagan i wouldn’t really pray for her but if I were going to i think it would be as he grew up and she, as a mother, had to stand back and watch her son consigned to his fate, powerless to save him, as you know from my blog the thoughts of a mother watching her child lose their life is something in my mind at the minute with little Charlie, but thinking of my own kids I do not think it would matter if they are 2, 12, or 22 the pain will be the same. Mary my have had faith they would be reunited but as she watched her son suffer on the cross I doubt it eased her pain

  2. Pingback: Time heals | Rosalie Squires

    • Paula, you have a good point there; Age is just an aspect or function of time whereas a mother’s feelings are something of eternity. I think you’ve just inspired my next post.

      You’ve also made me realise that I know next to nothing about pagan beliefs. Do pagans not pray to the old Norse gods, Woden, Freyer etc? Ah, perhaps you don’t mean you wouldn’t pray; just not for her?

      And no, faith doesn’t exempt from pain; it provides a way of coping with it.

      • paulaacton says:

        We do pray the choice of god or goddess is a little more complex as their are so many different belief systems within paganism, most pray to the mother, but accept she may be called by many names, Asis, Hectate, Diana and Freya to name just a few so in some ways it is not so different from christian beliefs. The biggest difference is probably how it is practised as it is more of a personal journey to learning than having teachings whereas christians have the bible we do not have a single text that directs belief partly bcause historically having those documents could have you burnt at the stake

  3. True, we have the bible but getting to know God is still a personal journey.

Leave a Reply

