Life’s journey

I stumbled in the dark
Through thick green undergrowth
Refusing to hear the many words that came my way
And seeing only the odd brief glimpse
of heaven.
Yet something in me yearned for what I would not seek.
I ran, I hid, I argued.
Eventually, surrendering,
Was brought on high
To bright lit plain. And
All seemed clear. All seemed
Right and simple.
But I forgot to trust
And, choosing one thing, lost
The rest that could me mine as well.
Long years of winter twilight
Then engulfed my soul
While part of me was happy
In my choice.
I had so much I wanted
Yet…
Regret, I would not entertain
I’d made my choice
And would not say I could be wrong.
So many years before the thaw
It was not what, but how I chose
How long before I saw it!
Springtime dawned and
Called to me. I
Dared to look, to listen,
Question. New green shoots
Begin to grow.
Life starts afresh, it seems
But no, hidden roots
Are in the tundra’s wilderness.
 

How many life stages can a character go through before it all gets too complicated and confusing?

About Rosalie Squires

'Who am I?' is a question whose answer keeps evolving, that can be answered in many, many ways; that has no known answer at all. But there are some clues to be found: stocksharpsquires.wordpress.
This entry was posted in Poems, Uncategorized, Writing &Blogging and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Life’s journey

  1. Lovely! I posted your URL and a note on the Christian Poets & Writers blog – http://christianpoetsandwriters.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

