Small world

How many people
live on this earth?
How many souls
inhabit the blogosphere?
How often in life
we go into town
visit a shop and
meet no-one we know?
Yet visit a site
I’ve not been to before
And there’ve been my friends
leaving their mark.
I question, I wonder
What draws us together
Random chance?
Not a chance! Its force
is too small.
Likemindedness?
But what is that?

Tell me, someone, of the millions who could visit a site, why, of the few dozen who have, will there be someone I recognize? It’s not as though I know thousands, let alone millions of bloggers!

About Rosalie Squires

'Who am I?' is a question whose answer keeps evolving, that can be answered in many, many ways; that has no known answer at all. But there are some clues to be found: stocksharpsquires.wordpress.
This entry was posted in Poems, Uncategorized, Writing &Blogging and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Small world

  1. pennycoho says:

    Very well written. Let me know if you find a name for this “essence of attraction” that occurs to a few handfuls or more humans (Seems to be happening more frequently in the blogosphere of things).. I know it exists and have a few ideas about the why. It’s the how that is the puzzlement to me! Nice blog!

    • Essence of attraction sounds a good name to me. I wonder if your ideas of why include those of Rosy and Diane below?
      A certain amount of the ‘howness’ is built into the system – go look at a site because they have liked one you regularly follow and you’d expect to find people you recognise but it’s when going somewhere for the first time for no such reason and still finding people you recognise that gets me.

      • pennycoho says:

        We’re all correct from my perspective. I believe in a concept that I call “all-time”! We (humans) physically live in a linear time (according to how the planets rotate and interact with the star (sun) in our solar system, but the past, present, future and alternative realities are going all all around us. We (humans) have either genetically forgotten how to understand/be in all-time or we are evolving to be able to this. So there are those who sense it, those who dream it, those who sometimes inhabit it and those who don’t. Just my thoughts on the everything of time here! I think Einstein was working on his own awareness of all-time.

  2. RoSy says:

    Hmmmm…wonder if we knew each other in another time or place… 🙂

  3. My explanation – kindred spirits.

  4. Penny – your description of ‘all-time’ seems very like my idea of eternity. A lot of people when talking about eternity seem to have in mind a time line which stretches forever in both directions – infinitely large but only in one dimension. But to my way of thinking it has at least three dimensions, probably more.
    I think that as a race,humans have largely forgotten how to live in it the same as we have largely forgotten so many of our innate instincts. But as individuals we can recover this if we allow our spiritual life to evolve.

Leave a Reply

