Is ‘Happy New Year’ a blessing?

HNY

‘Bless you,’ you say
when I sneeze.
‘Blessings,’ an email
sign -off.
‘The Lord bless you and keep you
The Lord make his face to shine upon you,’
We still say
or sing
more formally
following the instructions
of the ancient
Moses.
We wish well
to each other.
Expression of care?
Vain hope?
Or do we invoke
some higher power?
‘Good day’
‘Happy New Year’
Polite, vain words
or true blessing
bringing some good to our world?

So what is the essential essence of a blessing? And does ‘Happy New Year’ qualify?

About Rosalie Squires

'Who am I?' is a question whose answer keeps evolving, that can be answered in many, many ways; that has no known answer at all. But there are some clues to be found: stocksharpsquires.wordpress.
This entry was posted in Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Is ‘Happy New Year’ a blessing?

  1. paulaacton says:

    For pagans our new year is technically a week before everyone else’s taking place at the Winter Solstice and of course we offer blessings I do think it does qualify depending how you view it – the beginning of a new year is the time from dreams to be vocalised wishes for the year ahead but it is also time to acknowledge the wheel has turned full circle and to reflect upon the blessings of the previous year, we may not be in a better place financially or sometimes even physically but hopefully spiritually we have gathered knowledge to take forward with us that we can be thankful for, and I believe that is the way it should be whatever beliefs you have. It is easy to say it was a terrible year and I am glad it is over with but I think that it is far better to find something positive be it a new friend entering your life, a precious memory created with your loved ones and use that as the catalyst to bring future blessings on your journey through life, (Sorry for waffling)

    • Thanks or your thoughts, Paula. And I don’t regard it as waffle as you have interesting points to make; a lot of words that don’t actually say anything is my idea of waffle.
      I’m glad you brought up the spiritual dimension; on a personal level, I regard my year as starting on Advent Sunday; it has personal significance for me as well as being the start of our church’s liturgical year. It is when I start a new journal and do all that taking stock of life that you talk about.
      I had been getting fed up with keep hearing ‘Happy New Year’ over and over, thinking what is everyone getting so excited about? It’s just a number clocking over – so what. Then two or three things I picked up and read all talked about different aspects of blessing and I started to wonder if our standard greetings could be regarded as such. It’s made me feel a lot more tolerant to the well wishers who regard a change of number in the date as something to get excited about. If they don’t mark the Solstice like you, or Advent like me, then they need some other date to focus on, I suppose.
      I totally agree with your comments about a positive attitude; I came across a comment on
      someone’s blog towards the end of December saying they couldn’t wait for the end of 20212 to be out of the way. Why not treat the last days and hours as chance to redeem something from what might have been a generally bad year rather than wishing away the gift of life?

  2. RoSy says:

    I think all good thoughts & wishes count as blessings – that’s just me 😉

  3. It is just a standard thing to say at this time of year, but there is something about this time of year that makes most people seem to want the best for everyone. In that sense, I guess it is a blessing. I like the idea of it being meant that way, it’s a nice thought, that we are saying goodbye to the old year with a blessing for the new 🙂

  4. If good thoughts can have a positive effect in blessing someone then it really makes you think we should be careful about bad ones .

Leave a Reply

