Sparrow in the snow

I wonder how it feels
to be a sparrow hopping in the snow
the hard and icy snow
crisp, crunchy
under human feet.
The sparrow has to weight to crush
the thick white blanket
on the sloping roof.
He left no footprints
where he went.
I wonder
does he care
about the freezing fog
that blocks my view?
Or note the surreal light
as, briefly
the sun tried to break through?
I wonder how it feels
to know things as they are
and not to question why.
Not to query
how long it will last.
I hear the sparrow chirping
He sounds no different
than any other day.
Does he feel different
out in the cold?
Or simply accept
that’s how life is?
I feel the cold
even indoors
and the view from the window
freezes my soul.
That brave little bird
all part of one creation
challenges my mood
my attitude to life.

Does anything in nature make you think that we humans are ungrateful for our lot?

About Rosalie Squires

'Who am I?' is a question whose answer keeps evolving, that can be answered in many, many ways; that has no known answer at all. But there are some clues to be found: stocksharpsquires.wordpress.
This entry was posted in Life, Poems, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sparrow in the snow

  1. Perhaps if we followed the sparrow’s example and focused our energy on being rather than worrying and questioning we too would live as vibrantly.

  2. Thanks, Diane, I’m sure you’re right.

  3. A challenge from a sparrow… a dare even. šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

