Southwark air

The planes and the birds make it sound like summer
The sun on my face feels like summer
But the ground freezing my feet reminds me of frost barely two hours gone.
There’s a feel I call the Southwark feel
A feeling in the air.
Or so it seems.
Perhaps the feel’s in me?
I feel tension drain away
Tension I didn’t know was there
And become aware of little things
Aware of being, now.
A cockerel crows
He doesn’t care
That sun is past it’s height.
Little sounds are so intense
They emphasise the quiet between.
Moments like this
I know that heaven’s found it’s way to earth
Half an hour in time
A moment for all eternity.

Yes, I sat outside for lunch and took my notebook with me!

About Rosalie Squires

'Who am I?' is a question whose answer keeps evolving, that can be answered in many, many ways; that has no known answer at all. But there are some clues to be found: stocksharpsquires.wordpress.
This entry was posted in Poems, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Southwark air

  1. Glad you sat outside and took your notebook.

  2. RoSy says:

    Niiice!
    If I sat outside with my notebook today – I would have turned into an ice-pop 😀

  3. I cheated. I left my notebook outside – while I sat in front of the fire!

  4. Well, there must be a start of a story in that!

Leave a Reply

