Inner camera

Oh why did I not have my camera with me today?
The glorious sight captured only by my inner eye
Where memory is prone to fade
And words the only means at hand
To try and share the sight with you.
Was all this beauty just for me?
No, unseen angels, I am sure
Were gathered there to see
But mine the only human eye
And mine the only human words
Lest you can hear the angel song
On me you must rely
To catch the glimpse
Of bright sunlight
Sneaking through the trees
Thawing, opening
Giving life
To golden crocus cups
Nestled there in sparkling frost.

It’s what I call one of those moments of eternity; a little earlier and the flowers would still have been tight closed against the cold, a little later and the frost would have melted. Such a brief window of opportunity coincided with me happening along. A moment so short in time; a beauty so great in eternity.

About Rosalie Squires

'Who am I?' is a question whose answer keeps evolving, that can be answered in many, many ways; that has no known answer at all. But there are some clues to be found: stocksharpsquires.wordpress.
This entry was posted in cameras and the like, Poems and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Inner camera

  1. RoSy says:

    Some gifts are just meant for you & only you to see & experience. This was one such gift 🙂
    Nice – huh?

  2. Certainly an experience of the moment; I passed the same clump today, a mild grey morning with a hint of drizzle, and those same flowers had closed up, huddled forlornly against the weather.

Leave a Reply

