Ten percent?

Do not others possess
The need to express
Their innermost feelings
As I do?

I penned those words many years ago and have shared them before. The point is, at the time I couldn’t find anyone amongst my family and friends who shared my passion for expressing and sharing their thoughts. Some years later I added some more words:

This is the age of internet
The ultimate expression
All my words I now can post
As one great long confession.

Well, in this age of blogging, of course it is quite evident that I am not one lone voice! Just one in a clamouring crowd all longing to be heard. Imagine my amazement then, when someone told me last week that on average people only express ten percent of what they think!

Apart from wondering how on earth such a thing can be measured, I’m thinking keep ninety percent of everything I think to myself? Is that possible?

Did they exclude all bloggers and writers of any sort from their survey? Has anyone else come across this statistic or can anyone throw any light on it?

About Rosalie Squires

'Who am I?' is a question whose answer keeps evolving, that can be answered in many, many ways; that has no known answer at all. But there are some clues to be found: stocksharpsquires.wordpress.
This entry was posted in Life, Poems, Writing &Blogging and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ten percent?

  1. stevench23 says:

    I think blogs like these are a vehicle for authenticity- well done!

  2. paulaacton says:

    maybe only ten percent express their own opinions rather than saying what they think they should say?

Leave a Reply

