Help identify mystery plant

What is it?

Daniel's myster plant

The owner of this mystery plant has been known to plant mango seeds and grow to reasonable sized plants before the winter temperatures kills them off. He doesn’t particularly remember planting mango seeds this time. But, on the other hand, can’t think of anything else he might have planted. Yet the mystery plant grew; he found it in the cupboard!
So I got this phone call; could I tell him what it was? I suggested it could just be a weed. No; it is too exotic looking for that. Send me a picture, I’ll take a look. So this is the picture he sent.
Well, I agree it doesn’t look like a weed, but beyond that I’ve not got a clue.
Can anyone help?

About Rosalie Squires

'Who am I?' is a question whose answer keeps evolving, that can be answered in many, many ways; that has no known answer at all. But there are some clues to be found: stocksharpsquires.wordpress.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Help identify mystery plant

  1. No idea, except it’s green. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Shuv says:

    Hey Rosalie, I have the same Plant at my place. I cannot be of much help because I do not know the English name to it, but in Nepali we call it Thulo Patee. It means A big Leaf. I know it’s not a genuine name but that’s how it’s sold. And grows to be a beautiful plant. And it’s definitely not a weed. It’s one of those indoor plants.

  3. paulaacton says:

    It looks familiar as a houseplant but other than that can’t think of a name maybe something along the cheeseplant lines am sure we had something similar when I was at school and the leaves had to be polished if I am right it will grow huge

  4. Thanks for the comments – I’ve passed them on.

  5. tamara says:

    I have no idea what could it be, my diffenbachia, when young, looked similar.

    • Diffenbachia – I looked this up as the name was not familiar to me and found some scary stuff about possible results of eating it as it is poisonous. And alot comments along the lines of why should anyone want to eat it anyway??

      • tamara says:

        You really shouldn’t eat diffenbachia, but there are some other inedible indoors plants , too. Yet I like diffenbachia as it is easy to grow and a very decorative plant!

  6. Thanks everyone; the owners have now decided they think it is a lily. On quite what basis I wouldn’t quite make out!

  7. torimcrae says:

    I’m a little late to the party but the leaf looks a lot like the banana plant my mom used to have. Hers got very tall and even produced a bunch of small bananas. Unlucky for her she put a systemic pesticide on it before the fruit developed and she couldn’t eat them.

  8. Pingback: The mystery plant has grown | Rosalie Squires

  9. Pingback: Mystery plant flowers | Rosalie Squires

Leave a Reply

