Tyranny of the TODO list

According to my friend’s regime
I know what I SHOULD do
But I doubt if I’m going to to
Do it
Oh yes
There is satisfaction
In ticking tasks off
The list
I used to send myself
Emails
Boldly headed
TODO
Lest I should forget
Or find unstructured time.
I no longer write
The lists
So I am free of guilt
Or regret
That undefined dissatisfaction
That comes
From uncompleted items on
The list.
Schedule time for the
Big thing
Yes, I’ve read that too
And maybe we can all live
Our dream
If we work hard enough
At it
But once the dream
Becomes a SHOULD
We’ve sold our soul
And what’s the point?
It’s hard to relinquish
A lifetime’s ambition
But the journey’s become just a
Treadmill
And wouldn’t I rather live
And enjoy
Relish each moment of life
Than chase the dust
That no longer gleams in
A pot
At the end of the rainbow

About Rosalie Squires

'Who am I?' is a question whose answer keeps evolving, that can be answered in many, many ways; that has no known answer at all. But there are some clues to be found: stocksharpsquires.wordpress.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

