Deliver us from email

I recently heard of a wedding service that had an unusual version of the Lord’s Prayer – one that included the line, Deliver us from email.

I’d previously heard of that line being used on it’s own as the clergy’s prayer for their day off. It makes sense in that context but I’m puzzled by the wider application.

Do people generally not like receiving emails?

I find myself checking my inbox far more frequently than is actually merited in the hope of finding something of interest. I think it’s a hangover from my mum’s vigilant watch for the postman each morning and the pleasure she got from each handwritten letter from family and friends.

About Rosalie Squires

'Who am I?' is a question whose answer keeps evolving, that can be answered in many, many ways; that has no known answer at all. But there are some clues to be found: stocksharpsquires.wordpress.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Deliver us from email

  1. Perspective indeed, Tim.
    I sometimes think there is a different answer to everything if viewed from a different angle.

  2. Lucy Mills says:

    I think it depends on what kind of email – and how much – you receive!

Leave a Reply

